Articles written in Sadhana

    • Performance analysis of variants of super-twisting sliding mode control based governor designs for hydraulic generating regulated system


      More Details Abstract Fulltext PDF

      Hydroenergy is considered as one of the largest contributors of electricity whose global consumption has been rising owing to the annual growth rate of world’s population. This necessitates the stable and safe operation of hydropower plants via robust control designs in hydraulic generating regulated system (HGRS). However, HGRS exhibits non-linear, chaotic and non-minimum phase characteristics and therefore, devising controller for such an intricate system is a difficult objective. Besides, the system is primarily constituted by several electrical, mechanical and hydraulic series with a hydro-generating module conjectured as a controlled system and speed governor as a controller. To this end, this paper enacts novel robust non-linear governor prototypes for the stabilization of chaotic HGRS using five kinds of super-twisting sliding modecontrol techniques (SSMCs) namely, fixed gain SSMC (FGSSMC), variable gain SSMC (VGSSMC), terminal SSMC (TSSMC), adaptive SSMC (ASSMC) and higher order SSMC (HOSSMC). In addition, all the devised techniques are substantiated via the renowned Lyapunov’s stability theorem. Furthermore, to test and analyze their tracking and robust performances, four case studies involving fixed point stabilization test, variable speed tracking, periodic orbit tracking and random varying speed tracking test despite random noises are also executed. Moreover, the efficacies and usefulness of the proposed methods are compared with the preliminary methods such as input- output feedback linearization SMC (IFSMC) and Optimal PID (Proportional Integral Derivative)control in terms of settling time, error performance indices, control energy and total variance in control signal.

  • Sadhana | News

    • Editorial Note on Continuous Article Publication

      Posted on July 25, 2019

      Click here for Editorial Note on CAP Mode

© 2022-2023 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.