• Dhruba J Saikia

      Articles written in Resonance – Journal of Science Education

    • Nobel Prize in Physics 2019

      Dhruba J Saikia

      More Details Abstract Fulltext PDF

      The Nobel Prize in Physics 2019 was awarded by the RoyalSwedish Academy of Sciences jointly to James Peebles fromPrinceton University, USA, and Michel Mayor from the Universityof Geneva, Switzerland, and Didier Queloz, also fromthe University of Geneva and University of Cambridge, UK,

      “for contributions to our understanding of the evolution of theUniverse and Earth’s place in the cosmos”. One half of thePrize was awarded to James Peebles for “theoretical discoveriesin physical cosmology” and the other half jointly to MichelMayor and Didier Queloz for “the discovery of an exoplanetorbiting a solar-type star”. These are related to some of themost fundamental questions, namely the structure, constitutionand evolution of the Universe and the formation of planetsand the origin of life itself.

© 2021-2022 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.