• M Gupta

      Articles written in Pramana – Journal of Physics

    • Magnetic depth profiling of Fe/Au multilayer using neutron reflectometry

      Surendra Singh Saibal Basu M Gupta

      More Details Abstract Fulltext PDF

      We present unpolarized and polarized neutron reflectometry data on Fe/Au multilayer sample for characterizing the layer structure and magnetic moment density profile. Fe/Au multilayer shows strong spin-dependent scattering at interfaces, making it a prospective GMR material. Fe/Au multilayer with bilayer thickness of 130 Å was grown on Si substrate by RF magnetron sputtering technique. Unpolarized neutron reflectivity measurement yields nuclear scattering length density profile. The magnetic scattering length density profile has been obtained from polarized neutron reflectivity measurements.

    • A high resolution powder diffractometer using focusing optics

      V Siruguri P D Babu M Gupta A V Pimpale P S Goyal

      More Details Abstract Fulltext PDF

      In this paper, we describe the design, construction and performance of a new high resolution neutron powder diffractometer that has been installed at the Dhruva reactor, Trombay, India. The instrument employs novel design concepts like the use of bent, perfect crystal monochromator and open beam geometry, enabling the use of smaller samples. The resolution curve of the instrument was found to have little variation over a wide angular region and a $\Delta d/d \sim 0.3%$ has been achieved. The instrument provides sample environment of very low temperatures and high magnetic fields using a 7 Tesla cryogen-free superconducting magnet with a VTI having a temperature range of 1.5–320 K. The special sample environment and high resolution make this neutron powder diffractometer a very powerful facility for studying magnetic properties of materials.

  • Pramana – Journal of Physics | News

    • Editorial Note on Continuous Article Publication

      Posted on July 25, 2019

      Click here for Editorial Note on CAP Mode

© 2021-2022 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.