• T P Srivastava

      Articles written in Journal of Earth System Science

    • The WRF model performance for the simulation of heavy precipitating events over Ahmedabad during August 2006

      S K Deb T P Srivastava C M Kishtawal

      More Details Abstract Fulltext PDF

      The summer monsoon season of the year 2006 was highlighted by an unprecedented number of monsoon lows over the central and the western parts of India,particularly giving widespread rainfall over Gujarat and Rajasthan.Ahmedabad had received 540.2 mm of rainfall in the month of August 2006 against the climatological mean of 219.8 mm.The two spells of very heavy rainfall of 108.4 mm and 97.7 mm were recorded on 8 and 12 August 2006 respectively.Due to meteorological complexities involved in replicating the rainfall occurrences over a region,the Weather Research and Forecast (WRF –ARW version)modeling system with two different cumulus schemes in a nested con figuration is chosen for simulating these events.The spatial distributions of large-scale circulation and moisture fields have been simulated reasonably well in this model,though there are some spatial biases in the simulated rainfall pattern.The rainfall amount over Ahmedabad has been underestimated by both the cumulus parameterization schemes.The quantitative validation of the simulated rainfall is done by calculating the categorical skill scores like frequency bias,threat scores (TS)and equitable threat scores (ETS).In this case the KF scheme has outperformed the GD scheme for the low precipitation threshold.

  • Journal of Earth System Science | News

    • Editorial Note on Continuous Article Publication

      Posted on July 25, 2019

      Click here for Editorial Note on CAP Mode

    • Special Issue - "Call for papers"

      Posted on July 18, 2023
      AI/ML in Earth System Sciences

      Click here for more information

      Extreme weather events with special emphasis on lightning prediction, observation, and monitoring over India

      Click here for more information

© 2023-2024 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.