• L S Chamyal

      Articles written in Journal of Earth System Science

    • Stratigraphy of the Lesser Himalayan rocks in Kumaun

      L S Chamyal

      More Details Abstract Fulltext PDF

      The geology of Kumaun Lesser Himalaya falls within three main tectonic units, viz the Almora Nappe, Inner Krol Nappe and the Outer Krol Nappe, and the three units comprising the entire succession occur in five distinct zones or belts. The stratigraphy of the area has been revised on the basis of the occurrences of chloritic horizons (spilites) and also the existence of an unconformity at the base of Loharkhet/Bageshwar/Ganai/Bhimtal Formation. This paper describes briefly the lithological and structural characters of the rocks of the five belts and the observations are synthesized to present an integrated picture of the regional stratigraphic framework for the metasediments lying between the Main Central Thrust and the Main Boundary Thrust/Fault which define the tectonic boundaries of the Lesser Himalaya in Kumaun.

    • Structural set up in northern part of Kumaun Himalaya

      L S Chamyal Manudip Kaur

      More Details Abstract Fulltext PDF

      The Main Central Thrust (MCT) and the Main Boundary Thrust (MBT) are the two major thrusts in Kumaun, the MCT forming the boundary between highly sheared, deformed and mylonitized rocks of the Great Himalayan Central Crystallines and the Lesser Himalayan metasedimentaries. While in the Central Crystallines four-folding episodes are observed of which two are of the Precambrian age, the Lesser Himalayan rocks show only two phases of folding. MCT has its own distinctive structural history and the crystalline mass comprises an integral part of peninsular India.

  • Journal of Earth System Science | News

    • Editorial Note on Continuous Article Publication

      Posted on July 25, 2019

      Click here for Editorial Note on CAP Mode

© 2017-2019 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.