• Xiao Juan Zhang

      Articles written in Bulletin of Materials Science

    • Fabrication of hierarchical 𝛽-Co(OH)2 microspheres via hydrothermal process

      Guang Sheng Cao Xiao Juan Zhang Ling Su

      More Details Abstract Fulltext PDF

      Hierarchical 𝛽-Co(OH)2 microspheres with 20–50 𝜇m diameter assembled from nanoplate building blocks were successfully fabricated via a hydrothermal process in the presence of a cation surfactant cetyltrimethylammonium bromide (CTAB). The products are characterized in detail by multiform techniques: X-ray diffraction, scanning electron microscopy, energy-dispersive X-ray analysis. The effect of CTAB and pH value on the 𝛽-Co(OH)2 morphology was also investigated. When pH value is maintained at 9, an appropriate added amount of CTAB (3 g) is the crucial prerequisite for the formation of this interesting morphology. In this experiment, pH value of the solution and the cation surfactant CTAB together results in the formation of hierarchical 𝛽-Co(OH)2 microsphere structures assembled from nanoplates.

    • Synthesis and chemical etching of Te/C nanocables

      Guang Sheng Cao Yong Gang Liu Wen Wu Yang Chang Tan Hui Li Xiao Juan Zhang

      More Details Abstract Fulltext PDF

      In this paper, Te/C nanocables were fabricated by a hydrothermal method in the presence of cetyltrimethylammonium bromide (CTAB). The products were characterized in detail by multiform techniques: transmission electron microscopy, X-ray diffraction, energy-dispersive X-ray analysis and Fourier transform infrared (FTIR) spectroscopy. The results showed that the products were nanocables with lengths of several microns, core about 20 nm in diameter, and a surrounding sheath of about 60–80 nm in thickness. Te/C nanocables were tailored freely by chemical etching. Carbonaceous nanotubes and Te/C nanocables with fragmentary Te core were obtained by adjusting time of chemical etching.

  • Bulletin of Materials Science | News

    • Dr Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar for Science and Technology

      Posted on October 12, 2020

      Prof. Subi Jacob George — Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Jakkur, Bengaluru
      Chemical Sciences 2020

      Prof. Surajit Dhara — School of Physics, University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad
      Physical Sciences 2020

    • Editorial Note on Continuous Article Publication

      Posted on July 25, 2019

      Click here for Editorial Note on CAP Mode

© 2021-2022 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.