• T R Ravindran

      Articles written in Bulletin of Materials Science

    • Pressure-induced variations of medium-range order in B$_2$O$_3$ glasses


      More Details Abstract Fulltext PDF

      Lead-borate glasses manifest unique structure with lead oxide composition owing to their dual role of modifier and former. The medium-range signature from the first sharp diffraction peak (FSDP) in lead-borates exhibits substantial correlations due to the presence of superstructural units. Pressure plays an important role in altering bonding characteristics and hence structure in materials. To understand pressure-induced changes in the medium-range order (MRO) in lead-borate glasses, we have carried out high pressure X-ray diffraction studies in the FSDP region of these glasses up to 25 GPa. Two clear peaks, $q_0$ and $q_1$ are observed in all the modified glasses, below and above the position of the FSDP in pure B$_2$O$_3$ glass. This shows that lead oxide alters the FSDP and causes changes in the network structure at the MRO. $q_1$ exhibits an increase under compression, resulting in a reduction in correlation lengths for all glass compositions.The initial steep decrease is accompanied by a lower rate of reduction at higher pressures. This shows that correlations arising from structural voids in the boron matrix exhibit similar decrease for various lead oxide compositions.

    • Editorial

      T R Ravindran Awadhesh Mani N V Chandra Shekar Avesh K Tyagi

      More Details Abstract Fulltext PDF
  • Bulletin of Materials Science | News

    • Dr Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar for Science and Technology

      Posted on October 12, 2020

      Prof. Subi Jacob George — Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Jakkur, Bengaluru
      Chemical Sciences 2020

      Prof. Surajit Dhara — School of Physics, University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad
      Physical Sciences 2020

    • Editorial Note on Continuous Article Publication

      Posted on July 25, 2019

      Click here for Editorial Note on CAP Mode

© 2022-2023 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.