Articles written in Bulletin of Materials Science

    • Fracture toughness of cast aluminium alloys

      S Ranganatha Malur N Srinivasan

      More Details Abstract Fulltext PDF

      An investigation was carried out to evaluate the fracture toughness of cast aluminium alloys of different microstructural complexity, brought about by alloy constitution and cooling rate of castings. In all cases the three-point bend specimens, which had a thickness of 15 mm, did not provide valid plane — strain stress intensity factor values. The fracture susceptibility at a given stress level reckoned in terms of the conditional plane strain stress intensity factor (KQ) was found to be lowest in aluminium-4.5% copper alloy castings and the susceptibility increased with increase in microstructural complexity. Casting cooling rate in these castings is likely to affect the damage potential of a given defect at yield stress to a greater extent than the fracture susceptibility at a given stress.

    • Facile one-pot solvothermal synthesis of NiCoP and its electrochemical performance as anode for lithium ion battery


      More Details Abstract Fulltext PDF

      Herein, NiCoP is synthesized by simple solvothermal route and characterized for physicochemical properties and electrochemical characteristics. X-ray diffraction (XRD) confirms that the sample is formed in a pure phase. Cyclic voltammograms and charge–discharge profiles of electrodes exhibit peaks/plateaus corresponding to lithium intercalation/de-intercalation, which is characteristic of battery behaviour. The electrochemical evaluation as an anode for lithium ion batteries are studied in the 0.05–3.00 V range. With a high discharge capacity of 468 mAh g$^{–1}$ at C/10 rate in the very beginning, excellent cycling stability and superior rate performance, NiCoP proves to be a potential candidate for anode material of lithium ion battery.

  • Bulletin of Materials Science | News

    • Dr Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar for Science and Technology

      Posted on October 12, 2020

      Prof. Subi Jacob George — Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Jakkur, Bengaluru
      Chemical Sciences 2020

      Prof. Surajit Dhara — School of Physics, University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad
      Physical Sciences 2020

    • Editorial Note on Continuous Article Publication

      Posted on July 25, 2019

      Click here for Editorial Note on CAP Mode

© 2021-2022 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.