Articles written in Bulletin of Materials Science

    • Electrochemical fabrication of superhydrophobic and superoleophilic coating: applications in corrosion-resistant surfaces and oil cleanup


      More Details Abstract Fulltext PDF

      In this study, one-step electrodeposition method was used to achieve a superhydrophobic and superoleophilic coating. Since the obtained coating was magnetic, superhydrophobic and superoleophilic, it was evaluated from the viewpoint of anti-corrosion and oil cleanup applications. The Fourier transform infrared spectra (FTIR) and X-ray diffraction (XRD) results indicated that the superhydrophobic surface was composed of ${\gamma}$-Fe$_2$O$_3$ and Fe(CH$_3$(CH$_2)_{12}$-COO) compositions. The water and oil contact angles on the coating were as large as 160 and approximately 0°, respectively. Using the potentiodynamic polarization test, it was found that the corrosion rate of the superhydrophobic surface was reduced by more than five orders of magnitude than the bare carbon steel in NaCl solution. The electrochemical impedance spectroscopy results demonstrated that the total impedance of the superhydrophobic surface significantly increased when compared to the bare carbon steel. Moreover, a powder was obtained by detaching the coating from the surface. The resulting powder was superhydrophobic and superoleophilic and also had magnetic properties. The results showed that the polyurethane sponge modified by the obtained powder could separate oil from water.

  • Bulletin of Materials Science | News

    • Dr Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar for Science and Technology

      Posted on October 12, 2020

      Prof. Subi Jacob George — Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Jakkur, Bengaluru
      Chemical Sciences 2020

      Prof. Surajit Dhara — School of Physics, University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad
      Physical Sciences 2020

    • Editorial Note on Continuous Article Publication

      Posted on July 25, 2019

      Click here for Editorial Note on CAP Mode

© 2021-2022 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.