• S Rajesh

      Articles written in Bulletin of Materials Science

    • Magnetic field induced assembling of nanoparticles in ferrofluidic liquid thin films based on Ni𝑥Fe1-𝑥Fe2O4

      V S Abraham S Swapna Nair S Rajesh U S Sajeev M R Anantharaman

      More Details Abstract Fulltext PDF

      Ultra fine precursors for ferrofluid synthesis, belonging to the series, Ni𝑥Fe1-𝑥Fe2O4 (where `𝑥’ varies from `0’ to `0.6’ in steps of 0.1), were synthesized. Ferrofluids based on these fine particles were prepared with oleic acid as surfactant and kerosene as carrier. Ferrofluidic thin films were made on glass substrates and magnetic field induced laser transmission was studied. The pattern exhibited by the films under the influence of a magnetic field was observed with the help of a CCD camera. The analysis of results confirms the chain formation of particles in the presence of an applied magnetic field and their saturation at higher applied fields.

    • Ferrofluid thin films as optical gaussmeters proposed for field and magnetic moment sensing

      Swapna S Nair S Rajesh V S Abraham M R Anantharaman

      More Details Abstract Fulltext PDF

      Ferrofluids belonging to the series, Ni𝑥Fe1−𝑥Fe2O4 and Zn𝑥Fe1−𝑥Fe2O4, were synthesized using cold co-precipitation. Liquid films of these ferrofluids were prepared by encapsulating the ferrofluids in between two optically smooth and ultrasonically cleaned glass plates. Magnetic field induced laser transmission through these ferrofluid films has been investigated. Magnetic field values can be calibrated in terms of output laser power in the low field region in which the variation is linear. This set up can be used as a cheap optical gaussmeter in the low field regime. Using the same set-up, the saturation magnetization of the sample used can also be calculated with a sample that is pre-characterized. Hence both magnetization of the sample, as well as applied magnetic field can be sensed and calculated with a precalibrated sample.

  • Bulletin of Materials Science | News

    • Dr Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar for Science and Technology

      Posted on October 12, 2020

      Prof. Subi Jacob George — Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Jakkur, Bengaluru
      Chemical Sciences 2020

      Prof. Surajit Dhara — School of Physics, University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad
      Physical Sciences 2020

    • Editorial Note on Continuous Article Publication

      Posted on July 25, 2019

      Click here for Editorial Note on CAP Mode

© 2021-2022 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.