• S Mohan

      Articles written in Bulletin of Materials Science

    • Foreword

      M Ramakrishna Rao S Mohan

      More Details Fulltext PDF
    • Tribological behaviour of conventional Al–Sn and equivalent Al–Pb alloys under lubrication

      J P Pathak S Mohan

      More Details Abstract Fulltext PDF

      Two compositions of conventional aluminium base alloys were selected and equal amounts of tin and lead as a soft phase were incorporated separately. Impeller mixing and chill casting technique were employed for the preparation of the alloys. Mechanical properties of as cast alloys were evaluated at room temperature. Frictional behaviour of the alloys was studied in detail under lubrication while creating different frictional states by imposing 5–60 kg of normal load on the bearing (bush) mating surface. It was found that aluminium tin and leaded aluminium alloys slightly differ in mechanical properties. Frictional states created during sliding against steel shaft (hardness 55–60 Rc) under oil lubrication were not much different. Leaded aluminium alloy bushes show marginally lower friction than the conventional ones.

    • Temperature dependent grain-size and microstrain of CdO thin films prepared by spray pyrolysis method

      B G Jeyaprakash K Kesavan R Ashok Kumar S Mohan A Amalarani

      More Details Abstract Fulltext PDF

      CdO thin films on glass substrate were prepared by home built spray pyrolysis unit from aqueous solution of Cd(CH3COO)2.2H2O at different substrate temperatures. X-ray diffraction (XRD) studies indicate the formation of polycrystalline cubic CdO phase with preferential orientation along (111) plane. X-ray line broadening technique is adopted to study the effect of substrate temperature on microstructural parameters such as grain size and microstrain. Scanning electron microscopy (SEM) shows that the film prepared at 250°C consists of spherical shape grains with size in nanometer range and is comparable with the XRD studies.

  • Bulletin of Materials Science | News

    • Dr Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar for Science and Technology

      Posted on October 12, 2020

      Prof. Subi Jacob George — Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Jakkur, Bengaluru
      Chemical Sciences 2020

      Prof. Surajit Dhara — School of Physics, University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad
      Physical Sciences 2020

    • Editorial Note on Continuous Article Publication

      Posted on July 25, 2019

      Click here for Editorial Note on CAP Mode

© 2017-2019 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.