Articles written in Bulletin of Materials Science

    • Investigating the role of amides on the textural and optical properties of mesoporous-nanostructured $\theta$-Al$_2$O3


      More Details Abstract Fulltext PDF

      Mesoporous-nanostructured $\theta$-Al$_2$O$_3$ was synthesized by an autoclaving technique using different amidesi.e., formamide (F), dimethyl formamide (DMF) and diethyl formamide (DEF) at 150$^{\circ}$C/24 h followed by calcinationat 1000$^{\circ}$C. Crystallization and structural behaviour of the as-synthesized materials were characterized by X-raydiffraction and Fourier transform infrared spectroscopy. The porosity study was carried out by N2 adsorption–desorption(BET) technique. Microstructural features were measured by transmission electron microscopy (TEM). The amidebasedsolvents played a deliberate role in microstructural and textural features of $\theta$-Al$_2$O$_3$. The DMF-based solventshowed an enhanced surface area of 158 m$2^$ g$^{−1}$. The as-prepared $\theta$-Al$_2$O$_3$ rendered a nano-sheet, nano-rod and nano-flake like morphology for F, DMF and DEF derived products, respectively. From the UV–Vis spectroscopic measurement, the estimated band-gap of $\theta$-Al$_2$O$_3$ was found to be 5.16–5.40 eV. Photoluminescence investigation further revealed blue emission particularly for excitation at a wavelength of 252 nm. A DMF-derived sample rendered thelowest band gap due to its smaller crystallite size and higher surface area compared to that of F- and DEF-derivedsamples.

  • Bulletin of Materials Science | News

    • Dr Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar for Science and Technology

      Posted on October 12, 2020

      Prof. Subi Jacob George — Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Jakkur, Bengaluru
      Chemical Sciences 2020

      Prof. Surajit Dhara — School of Physics, University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad
      Physical Sciences 2020

    • Editorial Note on Continuous Article Publication

      Posted on July 25, 2019

      Click here for Editorial Note on CAP Mode

© 2022-2023 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.