• Nitai Debnath

      Articles written in Bulletin of Materials Science

    • Ciprofloxacin conjugated zinc oxide nanoparticle: A camouflage towards multidrug resistant bacteria

      Prasun Patra Shouvik Mitra Nitai Debnath Panchanan Pramanik Arunava Goswami

      More Details Abstract Fulltext PDF

      Gradual development of antibiotic resistant bacteria is producing severe global threat. Newer strategies are now being employed in order to control the microbial infections and to reduce the mortality as well as infection rates. Herein we describe successful synthesis of ZnO nanoparticles (ZNP) under microwave assisted condition followed by functionalization with ciprofloxacin, an antibiotic, using EDC/NHS chemistry. Successful conjugation of ciprofloxacin was confirmed by FTIR spectra. Ciprofloxacin-conjugated ZnO nanoparticles (ZN-CIP) exhibited excellent antibacterial activity against clinically isolated multidrug resistant bacterial strains of Escherichia coli, Staphylococcus aureus and Klebsiella sp. ZNP were small in size with particle size distribution 18–20 nm as obtained from transmission electron microscope (TEM). Surface topology was obtained from atomic force microscopic (AFM) image and x-ray diffraction confirmed that ZNP possessed hexagonal crystal structure. A concentration of 10 𝜇g/mL of ZN-CIP was a benchmark concentration. During evaluation of minimum inhibitory concentration (MIC) values, similar concentration of antibiotic was incapable of producing antibacterial activity.

  • Bulletin of Materials Science | News

    • Dr Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar for Science and Technology

      Posted on October 12, 2020

      Prof. Subi Jacob George — Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Jakkur, Bengaluru
      Chemical Sciences 2020

      Prof. Surajit Dhara — School of Physics, University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad
      Physical Sciences 2020

    • Editorial Note on Continuous Article Publication

      Posted on July 25, 2019

      Click here for Editorial Note on CAP Mode

© 2021-2022 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.