• Mohd Shahid Khan

      Articles written in Bulletin of Materials Science

    • Structural, optical, photoluminescence, dielectric and electrical studies of vacuum-evaporated CdTe thin films

      Ziaul Raza Khan M Zulfequar Mohd Shahid Khan

      More Details Abstract Fulltext PDF

      Highly-oriented CdTe thin films were fabricated on quartz and glass substrates by thermal evaporation technique in the vacuum of about 2 × 10-5 torr. The CdTe thin films were characterized by X-ray diffraction (XRD), UV–VIS–NIR, photoluminescence spectroscopy and scanning electron microscopy (SEM). X-ray diffraction results showed that the films were polycrystalline with cubic structure and had preferred growth of grains along the (111) crystallographic direction. Scanning electron micrographs showed that the growth of crystallites of comparable size on both the substrates. At the room temperature, photoluminescence spectra of the films on both the substrates showed sharp peaks with a maximum at 805 nm. This band showed significant narrowing suggesting that it originates from the transitions involving grain boundary defects. The refractive index of CdTe thin films was calculated using interference pattern of transmission spectra. The optical band gap of thin films was found to allow direct transition with energy gap of 1.47–1.50 eV. a.c. conductivity of CdTe thin films was found to increase with the increase in frequency whereas dielectric constant was observed to decrease with the increase in frequency.

  • Bulletin of Materials Science | News

    • Dr Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar for Science and Technology

      Posted on October 12, 2020

      Prof. Subi Jacob George — Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Jakkur, Bengaluru
      Chemical Sciences 2020

      Prof. Surajit Dhara — School of Physics, University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad
      Physical Sciences 2020

    • Editorial Note on Continuous Article Publication

      Posted on July 25, 2019

      Click here for Editorial Note on CAP Mode

© 2022-2023 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.