• K N Krishna

      Articles written in Bulletin of Materials Science

    • A novel method ofrf powder sputtering

      K Solomon Harshavardhan K N Krishna

      More Details Abstract Fulltext PDF

      A new method ofrf sputtering by which thin films of metals, semiconductors and insulators can be sputtered from their respective powders, has been successfully demonstrated. The films have been characterized for their surface and crystal structure using conventional methods ofsem andtem. All the films are amorphous with a relatively smooth surface topography. The relative merits and demerits of the technique have been briefly discussed.

    • Structural characterization of gel-grown neodymium copper oxalate single crystals

      K S Raju K N Krishna Jayakumari Issac M A Ittyachen

      More Details Abstract Fulltext PDF

      Sparingly soluble neodymium copper oxalate (NCO) single crystals were grown by gel method, by the diffusion of a mixture of neodymium nitrate and cupric nitrate into the set gel containing oxalic acid. Tabular crystal, revealing well-defined dissolution figures has been recorded. X-ray diffraction studies of the powdered sample reveal that NCO is crystalline. Infrared absorption spectrum confirmed the formation of oxalato complex with water of crystallization, while energy dispersive X-ray analysis established the presence of neodymium dominant over copper in the sample. X-ray photoelectron spectroscopic studies established the presence of Nd and Cu in oxide states besides (C2O4)2− oxalate group. The intensities of Nd (3d5/2) and Cu (2p3/2) peaks measured in terms of maximum photoelectron count rates also revealed the presence of Nd in predominance. The inductively coupled plasma analysis supports the EDAX and XPS data by the estimation of neodymium percentage by weight to that of copper present in the NCO sample. On the basis of these findings, an empirical structure for NCO has been proposed. The implications are discussed.

  • Bulletin of Materials Science | News

    • Dr Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar for Science and Technology

      Posted on October 12, 2020

      Prof. Subi Jacob George — Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Jakkur, Bengaluru
      Chemical Sciences 2020

      Prof. Surajit Dhara — School of Physics, University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad
      Physical Sciences 2020

    • Editorial Note on Continuous Article Publication

      Posted on July 25, 2019

      Click here for Editorial Note on CAP Mode

© 2021-2022 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.