• Jarjis Habash

      Articles written in Bulletin of Materials Science

    • Electron density maps of lysozyme calculated using synchrotron laue data comprising singles and deconvoluted multiples

      John W Campbell Ashley Deacon Jarjis Habash John R Helliwell Sean McSweeney Hao Quan James Raftery Edward Snell

      More Details Abstract Fulltext PDF

      We have used lysozyme as a test case to illustrate the application of a new method of estimating the intensities of Laue multiples reflection data in protein crystallography. Hen egg-white lysozyme, an enzyme with a single polypeptide chain of 129 amino acids, crystallizes in space group P43212 with cell parametersa=b=79·1 Å,c=37·9 Å. Laue image plate data were collected using synchrotron radiation on station 9·5 at Daresbury with a total exposure time of 0·95 seconds. The data processed were separated into two data sets comprising the singles and the combined singles and deconvoluted multiples. The method of deconvolution was that of Campbell and Hao (1993), which utilizes the intensity variation of theλ-curve. Electron density maps (2FoFc) based on the two data sets are then compared. This comparison shows that the deconvoluted multiples do indeed contribute usefully to the continuity of the maps due to the improved completeness of the data. A number of map sections along the polypeptide chain, based on the two Laue data sets, are shown for comparison. These include Arg 5, His 15, Phe 38, Asp 52, Tyr 53, Pro 70, Trp 108 and the four disulphide bridges.

  • Bulletin of Materials Science | News

    • Dr Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar for Science and Technology

      Posted on October 12, 2020

      Prof. Subi Jacob George — Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Jakkur, Bengaluru
      Chemical Sciences 2020

      Prof. Surajit Dhara — School of Physics, University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad
      Physical Sciences 2020

    • Editorial Note on Continuous Article Publication

      Posted on July 25, 2019

      Click here for Editorial Note on CAP Mode

© 2023-2024 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.