Articles written in Bulletin of Materials Science

    • Comparative studies on spinal ferrite MFe$_2$O$_4$ (M $=$ Mg/Co) nanoparticles as potential adsorbents for Pb(II) ions


      More Details Abstract Fulltext PDF

      Ferrite nanoparticles (NPs) with composition MFe$_2$O$_4$ (M $=$ Mg/Co) were synthesized by a facile combustion method. NPs were characterized employing various physico-chemical techniques. X-ray diffraction patterns confirmed the phase purity, transmission electron micrographs indicated that NPs are spherical and average diameter of maximum fraction of NPs was in the range of 20–30 nm. Magnetic studies revealed that the saturation magnetization values for MgFe$_2$O$_4$ and CoFe$_2$O$_4$ NPs were 13.17 and 41.12 emu g$^{−1}$, respectively. The Brunauer–Emmett–Teller surface area of CoFe$_2$O$_4$ and MgFe$_2$O$_4$ NPs was 22.98 and 34.39vm$^2$ g$^{−1}$, respectively. Synthesized ferrite NPs and activated charcoal were comparatively analysed as adsorbents for removal of Pb(II) ions. The factors influencing uptake behaviour of Pb(II) ions viz. adsorbent dose,pH, concentration, temperature and contact time were quantified.The adsorption data showed good correlationwith Langmuir and Freundlich models as compared to Dubinin–Radushkevich model. The maximum adsorption capacity displayed a twofold increase for NPs as compared to activated charcoal. The easy magnetic separation of ferrite NPs from the solution and their regeneration with 0.1 N NaOH for reuse without any loss make them potential adsorbents. The trend in ascending order for the elimination of Pb(II) ions from the solution was activated charcoal < CoFe$_2$O$_4$ NPs < MgFe$_2$O$_4$ NPs. The observed differences in the adsorption potential of NPs are explained on the basis of structural and magnetic properties and the surface area of NPs.

  • Bulletin of Materials Science | News

    • Dr Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar for Science and Technology

      Posted on October 12, 2020

      Prof. Subi Jacob George — Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Jakkur, Bengaluru
      Chemical Sciences 2020

      Prof. Surajit Dhara — School of Physics, University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad
      Physical Sciences 2020

    • Editorial Note on Continuous Article Publication

      Posted on July 25, 2019

      Click here for Editorial Note on CAP Mode

© 2023-2024 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.