Articles written in Bulletin of Materials Science

    • Synergistic effect of manganese and nitrogen codoping on photocatalytic properties of titania nanoparticles


      More Details Abstract Fulltext PDF

      Titanium dioxide is an n-type semiconductor widely used in applications like catalysts, optoelectonic materials, ceramics, H$_2$ generation, self-cleaning, water purification and solar cells. Sol–gel method has been chosen for nanoparticle synthesis because of its easy stoichiometry control, cost effectiveness and low temperature synthesis. In this study, titanium dioxide nanoparticles doped with different amounts of manganese (Mn) and nitrogen (N) were synthesized with sol–gel method. Crystal structure of undoped, Mn-doped, and Mn–N-codoped nanoparticles were determined with X-ray diffraction (XRD) analysis. Fourier transform infrared spectroscopy (FTIR) analysis was performed to identify the functional groups of nanoparticles. Photocatalytic analysis was carried out by methylene blue degredation under UV light for 1 h. X-rayphotoelectron spectroscopy (XPS) analysis was conducted to identify the chemical state and composition of the nanoparticles. Compared to the undoped TiO$_2$, which had 79.37% efficiency, Mn-doped and Mn–N-codoped TiO$_2$ nanoparticles have shown greater photocatalytic efficiency with 86.25 and 99.11% efficiencies, respectively. The results confirm that doping ofmanganese and nitrogen has affirmative effect on photocatalytic properties of synthesized nanoparticles.

  • Bulletin of Materials Science | News

    • Dr Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar for Science and Technology

      Posted on October 12, 2020

      Prof. Subi Jacob George — Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Jakkur, Bengaluru
      Chemical Sciences 2020

      Prof. Surajit Dhara — School of Physics, University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad
      Physical Sciences 2020

    • Editorial Note on Continuous Article Publication

      Posted on July 25, 2019

      Click here for Editorial Note on CAP Mode

© 2021-2022 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.