Articles written in Bulletin of Materials Science

    • A comparative study of potential energy curves with RKRV curves for the ground states of I2, F2 and CO molecules


      More Details Abstract Fulltext PDF

      The latest molecular constant potential energy curves used for the electronic ground states of I2, F2 and CO molecules are constructed by the Rydberg–Klein–Rees–Vanderslice (RKRV) method. The Morse, Rydberg, Hulbert–Hirschfelder and extended Rydberg potential functions compare each other and have good agreement with RKRV curves for these molecules. The percentage deviations from RKRV curves are drawn at the same abscissa scale. These curves show that the extended Rydberg potential energy curve deviation is <0.5−2% error to dissociation limit.

    • Enhancing the absorption of 1-chloro-1,2,2,2-tetrafluoroethane on carbon nanotubes: an ab initio study


      More Details Abstract Fulltext PDF

      We have investigated the possibility of utilizing various single-walled pristine and doped carbon nanotubes as adsorbents for the 1-chloro-1,2,2,2-tetrafluoroethane (HCFC-124) gaseous molecule. Three candidates, including pristine carbon nanotube (CNT), silicon carbide nanotube (SiCNT) and germanium-doped SiCNT (SiCGeNT) are identified and evaluated theoretically. The quantum simulations have been performed at the density functional theory (DFT) level with four different functionals (i.e., M06-2X, xB97XD, CAM-B3LYP and B3LYP-D3) with a split-valence triple-zeta basis set (6-311G(d)). We found that adsorption on the SiCGeNT is most favourable, while that on the pristine CNT yields the lowest adsorption energy. Adsorption on these nanotubes is not accompanied by an active charge-transfer phenomenon; instead, it is driven by weak van der Waals forces. The HOMO–LUMO energy gaps drastically change when the dopant atom is added to the SiCNT, thereby improving their overall adsorption capability. Among all of the adsorbents investigated here, SiCGeNT shows the most favourable for designing effective HCFC-124 nanosensors.

  • Bulletin of Materials Science | News

    • Dr Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar for Science and Technology

      Posted on October 12, 2020

      Prof. Subi Jacob George — Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Jakkur, Bengaluru
      Chemical Sciences 2020

      Prof. Surajit Dhara — School of Physics, University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad
      Physical Sciences 2020

    • Editorial Note on Continuous Article Publication

      Posted on July 25, 2019

      Click here for Editorial Note on CAP Mode

© 2021-2022 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.