• Akhilesh K Chauhan

      Articles written in Bulletin of Materials Science

    • Erosion behaviour of hydro turbine steels

      Akhilesh K Chauhan D B Goel Satya Prakash

      More Details Abstract Fulltext PDF

      The martensitic stainless steel (termed as 13/4) is currently being used for fabrication of underwater parts in hydroelectric projects. There are, however, several maintenance problems associated with the use of this steel. A nitronic steel (termed as 21–4–N) has been developed as an alternative with the specific aim of overcoming these problems. A comparative study has been made on the erosion behaviour of 13/4 and 21–4–N steels by means of solid particle impingement using gas jet. The eroded surfaces after erosion tests were analysed by scanning electron microscopy. It is observed that the 21–4–N nitronic steel possesses better resistance to erosion in comparison to 13/4 martensitic stainless steel. The austenitic matrix of the nitronic steel possesses high hardness, high tensile toughness and work hardening ability, which results in higher erosion resistance.

    • Erosive wear of a surface coated hydroturbine steel

      Akhilesh K Chauhan D B Goel S Prakash

      More Details Abstract Fulltext PDF

      In the present investigation, stellite-6, Cr3C2–NiCr and WC–Co–Cr coatings were deposited by DGun on a hot rolled 21Cr–4Ni–N steel meant for fabrication of hydro turbine underwater parts. The coatings have been characterized for microstructure, porosity, microhardness and crystalline nature. The erosion experiments were carried out using an air jet erosion test rig at a velocity of 120 ms-1 and impingement angles of 30° and 90°. Silicon carbide particles of size ranging between 500 and 700 𝜇m were used as erodent. Scanning electron microscopy (SEM) technique was used to analyse the nature and mechanism of erosion. Erosion behaviour is observed to be influenced largely by the nature and extent of porosity in the surface coatings.

  • Bulletin of Materials Science | News

    • Dr Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar for Science and Technology

      Posted on October 12, 2020

      Prof. Subi Jacob George — Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Jakkur, Bengaluru
      Chemical Sciences 2020

      Prof. Surajit Dhara — School of Physics, University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad
      Physical Sciences 2020

    • Editorial Note on Continuous Article Publication

      Posted on July 25, 2019

      Click here for Editorial Note on CAP Mode

© 2021-2022 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.