• A K Bandyopadhyay

      Articles written in Bulletin of Materials Science

    • Dual anvil high pressure cell

      A K Bandyopadhyay B S Sivaram S V Subramanyam

      More Details Abstract Fulltext PDF

      A dual level high pressure cell using Bridgman anvils was constructed to facilitate simultaneous measurement on the samples. The anvils were of 4 mm and 5 mm diameter respectively. The anvils were made from tungsten carbide (3% cobalt binder). Pyrophyllite and steatite were used as the gasket and the pressure transmitting medium. The cell was calibrated against the polymorphic phase transition of bismuth and ytterbium.

    • A low cost laser-raman spectrometer

      A K Bandyopadhyay Nita Dilawar Arun Vijayakumar Deepak Varandani Dharambir Singh

      More Details Abstract Fulltext PDF

      A Jobin Yvon-Spex (HR640) monochromator with a notch filter (514·5 nm) and Ar+ ion laser has been used to set up a low cost laser Raman spectrometer. The selection and setup of the various optical components used in the present work has been solely carried out in our laboratory. The calibration of the monochromator was established from the studies of various standard mercury lines and the obtained data fitted with the reported data. Raman signals have been recorded for a number of samples e.g. diamond, ruby, carbon tetrachloride (CCI4), benzene (C6H6) and ethanol (C2H5OH). The obtained results are found to be in excellent agreement with the reported values for these materials in the literature.

  • Bulletin of Materials Science | News

    • Dr Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar for Science and Technology

      Posted on October 12, 2020

      Prof. Subi Jacob George — Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Jakkur, Bengaluru
      Chemical Sciences 2020

      Prof. Surajit Dhara — School of Physics, University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad
      Physical Sciences 2020

    • Editorial Note on Continuous Article Publication

      Posted on July 25, 2019

      Click here for Editorial Note on CAP Mode

© 2022-2023 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.