Articles written in Bulletin of Materials Science

    • Microstructural, optical and dielectric variations in SnO$_2$ nanoparticles synthesized via surfactant-assisted sol–gel route


      More Details Abstract Fulltext PDF

      SnO$_2$ nanoparticles are synthesized via sol–gel method in the presence of two surfactants isopropyl alcohol (IPA) and lauryl alcohol (LA). The synthesized nanoparticles are characterized for the microstructural features by X-raypowder diffraction (XRD) and field-emission scanning electron micrograph. To resolve the presence of defect-related oxygen vacancies and trapped states, optical studies such as UV–visible absorbance and Raman spectra have been carried out. The charge transport in the material is analysed by studying the AC electrical conduction. The deposited tetragonal rutile-phased SnO$_2$ nanoparticles are benefited by morphological modifications along with crystallite size reduction (from 21.5 to 15.1 nm) and an increase in dislocation density on changeover from LA to IPA in the precursor. Also, a preferential orientation of (112) plane is observed for the LA-assisted sample. The bandgap of the particles prepared viaLA addition is found to be considerably larger (3.71 eV) than that of IPA-assisted sample (3.44 eV). A detailed study of Raman spectra elucidates the presence of defects. The AC conductivity analysis reveals that the mobility of chargecarriers is higher in LA-assisted sample, which substantiates the findings from microstructural and optical studies.

  • Bulletin of Materials Science | News

    • Dr Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar for Science and Technology

      Posted on October 12, 2020

      Prof. Subi Jacob George — Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Jakkur, Bengaluru
      Chemical Sciences 2020

      Prof. Surajit Dhara — School of Physics, University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad
      Physical Sciences 2020

    • Editorial Note on Continuous Article Publication

      Posted on July 25, 2019

      Click here for Editorial Note on CAP Mode

© 2022-2023 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.