Articles written in Bulletin of Materials Science

    • Morphological features, dielectric and thermal properties of epoxy–copper cobaltite nanocomposites: preparation and characterization


      More Details Abstract Fulltext PDF

      Epoxy (LY-556/HY-951) system was cured at ambient temperature and its copper cobaltite nanocomposites with different percentage loadings of nanoparticles were prepared via powered shear mixing with HY-951 (triethylene-tetraamine, TETA) hardener. Characterizations of the nanocomposites were done by various methods like XRD, TEM, FTIR, TGA, DSC, SEM, VNA, DETA and XPS. XRD, XPS and TEM showed the successful preparation of copper cobaltitenanoparticles. Further, FTIR studies confirmed accomplishment of curing and consequently the formation of cross-linked network in the nanocomposites. The morphological analysis revealed that the nanoparticles of the copper cobaltite were uniformly distributed inside the epoxy matrix to 5% loading. The enhancement in impact properties of nanocomposites with increase in filler content was supported by fractured surface studies for even distribution of copper cobaltite nanoparticles. Thermogravimetric analysis (TGA) and differential scanning calorimetry (DSC) analyses showed enhancement in thermalstability as well as positive shift in the glass transition temperature for epoxy with copper cobaltite filler in comparison to neat epoxy resin. The positive shift in the glass transition temperature of the nanocomposites indicated improved interaction between copper cobaltite and epoxy matrix. These nanocomposites were also evaluated for their electromagnetic properties using dielectric thermal analyzer (DETA) and vector network analyzer (VNA) for determination of their permittivity and permeability, respectively. The improved thermal, mechanical and electromagnetic properties of epoxy–copper cobaltite nanocomposites make them potential candidates for microwave applications in a wide range of areas.

  • Bulletin of Materials Science | News

    • Dr Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar for Science and Technology

      Posted on October 12, 2020

      Prof. Subi Jacob George — Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Jakkur, Bengaluru
      Chemical Sciences 2020

      Prof. Surajit Dhara — School of Physics, University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad
      Physical Sciences 2020

    • Editorial Note on Continuous Article Publication

      Posted on July 25, 2019

      Click here for Editorial Note on CAP Mode

© 2021-2022 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.