• Performance comparison of evacuated U-tube solar collector integrated parabolic reflector with conventional evacuated U-tube solar collector

    • Fulltext


        Click here to view fulltext PDF

      Permanent link:

    • Keywords


      Parabolic reflector; energy intake; thermal efficeicncy; thermal model; experimental analysis.

    • Abstract


      In the present study, performance of the fabricated evacuated U-tube solar collector integrated parabolic reflector (EUSCIPR) and conventional evacuated U-tube solar collector (CEUSC) are analysed experimentally. With reference to humid climatic conditions, a 3D model is developed for comparing the thermal performance of EUSCIPR with a CEUSC. Developed model is validated with field test data and found in good agreement among them. Heat transfer fluid (HTF) temperature difference, energy intake/heat gain and thermal efficiency of the solar collectors are investigated experimentally at various ambient temperatures and solar intensities. From the experimental investigations, it was observed that, in a sunny day, the energy losses incurred across the solar collectors was high during peak hour (1: 20 PM). From the numerical studies, it is found that within the given operating range, the thermal efficiency of the EUSCIPR is 14.1% higher than CEUSC. Further, for a given inlet condition, the contour plots for variation of HTF temperature along the U-tube of EUSCIPR and CEUSC are predicted numerically, and the obtained results are discussed in detail.

    • Author Affiliations



      1. Mechanical Engineering Department, IIT Guwahati, Guwahati, Assam 781 039, India
      2. Sustainable Thermal Energy Systems Laboratory (STESL), Mechanical Engineering Department, NIT Rourkela, Rourkela, Odisha 769 008, India
      3. Bannari Amman Institute of Technology, Sathyamangalam, Tamil Nadu 638 401, India
    • Dates

  • Sadhana | News

    • Editorial Note on Continuous Article Publication

      Posted on July 25, 2019

      Click here for Editorial Note on CAP Mode

© 2021-2022 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.