• Cu–water nanofluid flow with arbitrarily shaped nanoparticles over a porous plate in a porous medium in the presence of slip

    • Fulltext


        Click here to view fulltext PDF

      Permanent link:

    • Keywords


      Nanofluid; forced convection; porous medium; arbitrarily shaped nanoparticles; partial slips; permeable plate.

    • Abstract


      The objective of the article is to analyse the forced convection nanofluid flow over a permeable plate in an absorbent medium using slip boundary conditions. A single-phase model for the nanofluid is used with variable shapes of nanoparticles. The partial differential equations (PDEs) of the model are altered into a set ofnon-linear ordinary differential equations (ODEs) by a suitable alteration. To obtain the solutions of the system of equations numerically, Runge–Kutta method is used with a shooting technique. The effects of various parameters,like permeability, suction/injection, nanoparticle volume fraction, velocity slip, thermal slip and nanoparticle shape parameters on velocity and temperature profiles are presented graphically and analysed. In addition, fora clear understanding of the model, the flow and the heat transfer characteristics are presented through graphs and analysed. Fluid velocity is found to increase with the increasing values of permeability of the porous medium,whereas temperature is found to reduce in this case. Temperature is a rising function of the thermal slip parameter, whereas it is a decreasing function of the velocity slip parameter.

    • Author Affiliations



      1. Department of Mathematics, The University of Burdwan, Burdwan 713 104, India
      2. Department of Mathematics, Govt. General Degree College, Kalna-I, Burdwan 713 405, India
      3. Department of Mathematics, University of Central Florida, Orlando, FL 32816-1364, USA
    • Dates

  • Pramana – Journal of Physics | News

    • Editorial Note on Continuous Article Publication

      Posted on July 25, 2019

      Click here for Editorial Note on CAP Mode

© 2022-2023 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.