• Neutron and proton shell closure in the superheavy region via cluster radioactivity in 280−314 116 isotopes

    • Fulltext


        Click here to view fulltext PDF

      Permanent link:

    • Keywords


      Cluster decay; alpha decay.

    • Abstract


      Based on the concept of cold valley in fission and fusion, the radioactive decay of superheavy280−314116 nuclei was studied taking Coulomb and proximity potentials as the interacting barrier. It is found that the inclusion of proximity potential does not change the position of minima but minima become deeper which agrees with the earlier findings of Gupta and co-workers. In addition to alpha particle minima, the other deepest minima occur for 8Be, 12,14C clusters. In the fission region two deep regions are found each consisting of several comparable minima, the first region centred on 208Pb and the second is around 132Sn. The cluster decay half-lives and other characteristics are computed for various clusters ranging from alpha particle to 70Ni. The computed half-lives for alpha decay match with the experimental values and with the values calculated using Viola–Seaborg–Sobiczewski (VSS) systematic. The plots connecting computed 𝑄 values and half-lives against neutron number of daughter nuclei were studied for different clusters and it is found that the next neutron shell closures occur at $N$ = 162, 172 and 184. Isotopic and isobaric mass parabolas are studied for various cluster emissions and minima of parabola indicate neutron shell closure at $N$ = 162, 184 and proton shell closure at $Z$ = 114. Our study shows that $^{276}_{162}$114 is the deformed doubly magic and $^{298}_{184}$114 is the spherical doubly magic nuclei.

    • Author Affiliations


      K P Santhosh1 R K Biju1

      1. P.G. Department of Physics & Research Centre, Payyanur College, Payyanur 670 327, India
    • Dates

  • Pramana – Journal of Physics | News

    • Editorial Note on Continuous Article Publication

      Posted on July 25, 2019

      Click here for Editorial Note on CAP Mode

© 2021-2022 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.