• Fulltext


        Click here to view fulltext PDF

      Permanent link:

    • Keywords


      inorganic carbon transporters; Gloeobacter violaceous PCC 7421; great oxidation event; cyanobacteria; evolution; carbon-concentrating mechanism.

    • Abstract


      The oxygenase reaction catalyzed by RuBisCO became an issue only after the evolution of the oxygenic photosynthesis incyanobacteria. Several strategies were developed by autotrophic organisms as an evolutionary response to increase oxygenlevels to help RuBisCO maximize its net carboxylation rate. One of the crucial advancements in this context was the develop-ment of more efficient inorganic carbon transporters which could help in increasing the influx of inorganic carbon (Ci) at thesite of CO2 fixation.We conducted a survey to find out the genes coding for cyanobacterial Ci transporters in 40 cyanobacterialphyla with respect to transporters present in Gloeobacter violaceous PCC 7421, an early-diverging cyanobacterium. Anattempt was also made to correlate the prevalence of the kind of transporter present in the species with its habitat. Basically,two types of cyanobacterial inorganic carbon transporters exist, i.e. bicarbonate transporters and CO2-uptake systems. Thetransporters also show variation in context to their structure as some exist as single subunit proteins (BicA and SbtA), whileothers exist as multisubunit proteins (namely BCT1, NdhI3 and NdhI4). The phylogeny and distribution of the former havebeen extensively studied and the present analysis provides an insight into the latter ones. The in silico analysis of the genesunder study revealed that their distribution was greatly influenced by the habitat and major environmental changes such as thegreat oxidation event (GOE) in the course of their evolution.

    • Author Affiliations

    • Dates

  • Journal of Genetics | News

    • Editorial Note on Continuous Article Publication

      Posted on July 25, 2019

      Click here for Editorial Note on CAP Mode

© 2021-2022 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.