• Fulltext


        Click here to view fulltext PDF

      Permanent link:

    • Keywords


      mitochondrial genome; Meconematinae; Orthoptera; phylogeny; Xizicus fascipes.

    • Abstract


      To help determine whether the typical arthropod arrangement was a synapomorphy for the whole Tettigoniidae, we sequenced the mitochondrial genome (mitogenome) of the quiet-calling katydids, Xizicus fascipes (Orthoptera: Tettigoniidae: Meconematinae). The 16,166-bp nucleotide sequences of X. fascipes mitogenome contains the typical gene content, gene order, base composition, and codon usage found in arthropod mitogenomes. As a whole, the X. fascipes mitogenome contains a lower A+T content (70.2%) found in the complete orthopteran mitogenomes determined to date. All protein-coding genes started with a typical ATN codon. Ten of the 13 protein-coding genes have a complete termination codon, but the remaining three genes (COIII, ND5 and ND4) terminate with incomplete T. All tRNAs have the typical clover-leaf structure of mitogenome tRNA, except for tRNA$^{Ser(AGN)}$, in which lengthened anticodon stem (9 bp) with a bulged nuleotide in the middle, an unusual T-stem (6 bp in constrast to the normal 5 bp), a mini DHU arm (2 bp) and no connector nucleotides. In the A+T-rich region, two (TA)n conserved blocks that were previously described in Ensifera and two 150-bp tandem repeats plus a partial copy of the composed at 61 bp of the beginning were present. Phylogenetic analysis found:

      1. the monophyly of Conocephalinae was interrupted by Elimaea cheni from Phaneropterinae; and

      2. Meconematinae was the most basal group among these five subfamilies.

    • Author Affiliations


      Ming Ru Yang1 Zhi Jun Zhou1 Yan Lin Chang1 Le Hong Zhao1

      1. College of Life Sciences, Hebei University, Baoding 071002, People’s Republic of China
    • Dates

  • Journal of Genetics | News

    • Editorial Note on Continuous Article Publication

      Posted on July 25, 2019

      Click here for Editorial Note on CAP Mode

© 2021-2022 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.