• Fulltext


        Click here to view fulltext PDF

      Permanent link:

    • Keywords


      Contact aureole; geothermobarometry; hornfels texture; Jhirgadandi pluton; superimposed metamorphism.

    • Abstract


      The metamorphic evolution of the contact aureole around the Late Paleoproterozoic Jhirgadandi pluton in the eastern part of Parsoi Formation of Mahakoshal terrain, central India represents three distinct metamorphic zones, characterized by definite mineral assemblages. The contact-metamorphic event produced the peak-metamorphic mineral assemblages Bt + Qtz + Alb + Sil ± Cd ± Grt ± Mus ± Kfs in the metapelites of inner aureole, Bt + Qtz + And + Mus + Kfs + Plag ± Cd ± Chl in middle aureole and Chl + Mus + Bt ± And + Alb + Qtz ± Ep + Mt ± tourmaline in the outer aureole. The estimated P–T conditions based on detailed geothermobarometric calculations in the thermal metamorphosed rocks are 690°C/3.4 kbar, 580 ± 15°C and 487 ± 30°C in inner aureole, middle aureole and outer aureole, respectively. The variation in metamorphic condition suggests that the shallow crustal level emplacement of Jhirgadandi pluton is responsible for the overprinting of contact metamorphic assemblages ($M_2$) in the low grade metapelites (regional metamorphism $M_1$) of Mahakoshal Group.

    • Author Affiliations


      S P Singh1 Anand K Srivastava2 Gopendra Kumar3 S B Dwivedi4

      1. Department of Geology, Institute of Earth Science, Bundelkhand University, Jhansi 284 128, India.
      2. Formerly, Department of Geology, Lucknow University, 124 Kashipur House, Aryanagar, Lucknow 226 004, India.
      3. Formerly, Geological Survey of India, B58, Kendriya Vihar Apartment, Sector 6, Jankipuram Vistar, Lucknow 226 021, India.
      4. Department of Civil Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology (BHU), Varanasi 221 005, India.
    • Dates

  • Journal of Earth System Science | News

    • Editorial Note on Continuous Article Publication

      Posted on July 25, 2019

      Click here for Editorial Note on CAP Mode

© 2021-2022 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.