• Fulltext


        Click here to view fulltext PDF

      Permanent link:

    • Keywords


      Aeromagnetic; Southern Granulite Terrain; IGRF; analytical signal; metamorphism

    • Abstract


      The degree sheet Aeromagnetic maps up to 17‡N, acquired from the Geological Survey of India, have been manually redigitised at 6 minute intervals to study the long wavelength anomalies over peninsular India. These data have been collected at different survey altitude, epochs, flight line directions, etc. Great care has been taken to correct the total field map and remove the contribution due to the core field and prepare an accurate crustal anomaly map. For the first time, a regional map, depicting the NW-SE structural features north of the orthopyroxene isograd with the essentially E-W features to the south of it and revealing several well known structures, is presented. The analytical signal is calculated to delineate the source fields of these anomalies. It dramatically maps the charnockites and is able to delineate the orthopyroxene isograd. In the Dharwar region the magnetic signatures are associated with the intrusives/ iron ore bodies. Thus, we find that the source rocks of the aeromagnetic anomalies are the host province of charnockites in the SGT and the intrusives/iron ore bodies in the Dharwar belt. Gravity residuals are calculated and a tectonic map of the region is presented from the combined geopotential data.

    • Author Affiliations


      P Harikumar1 Mita Rajaram1 T S Balakrishnan1

      1. Indian Institute of Geomagnetism, Colaba, Mumbai - 400 005, India
    • Dates

  • Journal of Earth System Science | News

    • Editorial Note on Continuous Article Publication

      Posted on July 25, 2019

      Click here for Editorial Note on CAP Mode

    • Special Issue - "Call for papers"

      Posted on July 18, 2023
      AI/ML in Earth System Sciences

      Click here for more information

      Extreme weather events with special emphasis on lightning prediction, observation, and monitoring over India

      Click here for more information

© 2023-2024 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.