• Fulltext


        Click here to view fulltext PDF

      Permanent link:

    • Keywords


      Mechanical model; wingspan; wing area; angle between humerus and body; gliding birds; speed; taper factor; span ratio

    • Abstract


      We tested a mechanical model of wing, which was constructed using the measurements of wingspan and wing area taken from three species of gliding birds. In this model, we estimated the taper factors of the wings for jackdaw (Corrus monedula), Harris’ hawk (Parabuteo unicinctas) and Lagger falcon (Falco jugger) as 1.8, 1.5 and 1.8, respectively. Likewise, by using the data linear regression and curve estimation method, as well as estimating the taper factors and the angle between the humerus and the body, we calculated the relationship between wingspan, wing area and the speed necessary to meet the aerodynamic requirements of sustained flight. In addition, we calculated the relationship between the speed, wing area and wingspan for a specific angle between the humerus and the body over the range of stall speed to maximum speed of gliding flight. We then compared the results for these three species of gliding birds. These comparisons suggest that the aerodynamic characteristics of Harris’ hawk wings are similar to those of the falcon but different from those of the jackdaw. This paper also presents two simple equations to estimate the minimum angle between the humerus and the body as well as the minimum span ratio of a bird in gliding flight.

    • Author Affiliations


      Moosarreza Shamsyeh Zahedi1 2 Mir Yaseen Ali Khan3

      1. Department of Mathematics, Payame Noor University of Neyshabur, Neyshabur, Iran
      2. Department of Mathematics, University of Pune, Pune 411007, India
      3. Department of Mathematics, Poona College of Arts Science and Commerce, Camp, Pune 411001, India
    • Dates

  • Journal of Biosciences | News

    • Editorial Note on Continuous Article Publication

      Posted on July 25, 2019

      Click here for Editorial Note on CAP Mode

© 2021-2022 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.