• ``Pinning strategy": a novel approach for predicting the backbone structure in terms of protein blocks from sequence

    • Fulltext


        Click here to view fulltext PDF

      Permanent link:

    • Keywords


      ab initio; bayesian prediction; local protein structures; structural alphabet

    • Abstract


      The description of protein 3D structures can be performed through a library of 3D fragments, named a structural alphabet. Our structural alphabet is composed of 16 small protein fragments of 5 C𝛼 in length, called protein blocks (PBs). It allows an efficient approximation of the 3D protein structures and a correct prediction of the local structure. The 72 most frequent series of 5 consecutive PBs, called structural words (SWs) are able to cover more than 90% of the 3D structures. PBs are highly conditioned by the presence of a limited number of transitions between them. In this study, we propose a new method called “pinning strategy” that used this specific feature to predict long protein fragments. Its goal is to define highly probable successions of PBs. It starts from the most probable SW and is then extended with overlapping SWs. Starting from an initial prediction rate of 34.4%, the use of the SWs instead of the PBs allows a gain of 4.5%. The pinning strategy simply applied to the SWs increases the prediction accuracy to 39.9%. In a second step, the sequence-structure relationship is optimized, the prediction accuracy reaches 43.6%.

    • Author Affiliations


      A G De Brevern1 C Etchebest1 C Benros1 2 S Hazout1

      1. INSERM, U726, Equipe de Bioinformatique Génomique et Moléculaire (EBGM), Université Paris 7, case 7113, 2, place Jussieu, 75251 Paris Cedex 05, France
      2. CNRS, UMR 5086, Equipe de Bioinformatique et RMN structurales, IBCP UCBL, 7, passage du Vercors, 69 367 Lyon Cedex 07, France
    • Dates

  • Journal of Biosciences | News

    • Editorial Note on Continuous Article Publication

      Posted on July 25, 2019

      Click here for Editorial Note on CAP Mode

© 2017-2019 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.