• Fulltext


        Click here to view fulltext PDF

      Permanent link:

    • Keywords


      Lipid peroxidation; drug-metabolizing and lysosomal enzymes; cellular injury

    • Abstract


      Levels of lipid peroxides in rat caecum, blood, liver and kidney and the capacity of tissue homogenates to form lipid peroxidesin vitro was enhanced after caecal amoebiasis in rats produced byEntamoeba histolytica (IB-1). The activity of hepatic drug-metabolizing enzymes in post-mitochondrial fraction and the cytochrome P450 contents in microsomal fraction decreased significantly, while lysosomal enzymes such as acid phosphatase, acid ribonuclease and cathepsin B showed an increase in the liver homogenates of infected animals. These changes were reversed following treatment with the antiamoebic drug, metronidazole

    • Author Affiliations


      P Bardhan1 I Bansal2 B N K Prasad2 S K Sharma1 N K Garg1

      1. Department of Biochemistry, Central Drug Research Institute, Lucknow - 226 001, India
      2. Department of Microbiology, Central Drug Research Institute, Lucknow - 226 001, India
    • Dates

  • Journal of Biosciences | News

      Forthcoming Special issue.

    • To trigger further research on plant mitochondria, the Journal of Biosciences is bringing out a special issue titled "Plant Mitochondria: Properties and Interactions with Other Organelles".

      Plant mitochondria are quite distinct and have unique features, such as a cyanide-insensitive alternate pathway. They also interact with chloroplasts to optimize photosynthetic carbon assimilation.

      Submissions are welcome until 30 July 2023. The contributions can be original articles, short communications, reviews, or mini-reviews on any topic related to plant mitochondria.

      Authors can submit their articles online at https://www.editorialmanager.com/jbsc/default2.aspx

      Posted on April 12, 2023
    • Editorial Note on Continuous Article Publication

      Posted on July 25, 2019

      Click here for Editorial Note on CAP Mode

© 2022-2023 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.