• Lipid requirements for axenic cultivation ofEntamoeba histolytica

    • Fulltext


        Click here to view fulltext PDF

      Permanent link:

    • Keywords


      Entamoeba histolytica ; axenic; cholesterol; lecithin; fatty acids; trophozoite-multiplication

    • Abstract


      Fatty acids, cholesterol and glucose present in axenic medium are utilized by growingEntamoeba histolytica but the amoeba is unable to synthesize cholesterol from [U-14 C- ] glucose although the label is incorporated into the fatty acids and non-saponifiable fractions of the organism. Exogenously-added sonicated dispersions of cholesterol, Β-sitosterol, lanosterol, lecithin and lauric, palmitic, linoleic and stearic acids are ingested by the amoebae with subsequent loss in amoeboid movement. After a few hours the movement is regained. Cholesterol, lecithin and the fatty acids stimulate amoebic multiplication but are unable to replace serum in the medium either singly or in combination.

    • Author Affiliations


      N K Garg1 S R Das1

      1. Central Drug Research Institute, Lucknow - 226 001
    • Dates

  • Journal of Biosciences | News

      Forthcoming Special issue.

    • To trigger further research on plant mitochondria, the Journal of Biosciences is bringing out a special issue titled "Plant Mitochondria: Properties and Interactions with Other Organelles".

      Plant mitochondria are quite distinct and have unique features, such as a cyanide-insensitive alternate pathway. They also interact with chloroplasts to optimize photosynthetic carbon assimilation.

      Submissions are welcome until 30 July 2023. The contributions can be original articles, short communications, reviews, or mini-reviews on any topic related to plant mitochondria.

      Authors can submit their articles online at https://www.editorialmanager.com/jbsc/default2.aspx

      Posted on April 12, 2023
    • Editorial Note on Continuous Article Publication

      Posted on July 25, 2019

      Click here for Editorial Note on CAP Mode

© 2022-2023 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.