• Fulltext


        Click here to view fulltext PDF

      Permanent link:

    • Keywords


      Mobile-genetic elements; LINEs; SINEs; Alus; gibbon; repeat masker; ELAN.

    • Abstract


      Recent sequencing of genome of northern white-cheeked gibbon (Nomascus leucogenys) has provided important insight into fast evolution of gibbons and signatures relevant to gibbon biology.Mobile-genetic elements (MGEs) seem to play a major role in gibbon evolution. Here, we report that most of the gibbon genome is occupied by MGEs such as Alus, MIRs, LINE1, LINE2, LINE3, ERVL, ERV-classI, ERV-classII and other DNA elements which include hAT Charlie and TcMar tigger.We provide detailed description and genome-wide distribution of allthe MGEs present in the gibbon genome. Previously, it was reported that gibbon-specific retrotransposon (LAVA) tends to insert into chromosome segregation genes and alter transcription by providing a premature terminationsite, suggesting a possible molecular mechanism for the genome plasticity of the gibbon lineage. We show that insertion sites of LAVA elements present atypical signals/patterns which are different from typical signals present at the insertion sites of Alu elements. This suggests the possibility of a distinct insertion mechanism used by LAVA elements for their insertions. We also find similarity in the signals of LAVA element insertion sites with atypical signals present at the Alus/L1s insertion sites disrupting the genes leading to diseases such as cancer and Duchenne muscular dystrophy. This suggests the role of LAVA in premature transcription termination.

    • Author Affiliations



      1. Department of Biotechnology, Jaypee Institute of Information Technology, A-10 Sector 62, Noida 201 309, India
      2. Amity Institute of Biotechnology, Amity University, Sector 125, Noida 201 313, India
      3. National School of Tropical Medicine, Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, Texas, United States
    • Dates

  • Indian Academy of Sciences
    Conference Series | News

© 2021-2022 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.