• Fulltext


        Click here to view fulltext PDF

      Permanent link:

    • Keywords


      Cu$_2$O; CuO; electrochemical deposition; annealing temperature; nanostructures.

    • Abstract


      This study aimed to investigate the formation of Cu$_2$O thin films on fluorine-doped tin oxide glass substrate by electrochemical deposition. The obtained Cu$_2$O thin films were annealed in air at various temperatures from 300 to 500°C. X-ray diffraction analysis shows that as-deposited and annealed thin films at 300°C have a cubic structure with a Cu$_2$O composition. The Cu$_2$O films annealed at 400 and 500°C were completely converted onto the monoclinic structure with CuO composition. On the other hand, atomic force microscope and scanning electron microscope images showed that the shape of Cu$_2$O grains was changed significantly from cubic to grains upon annealing. Mott–Schottky and photoelectrochemical measurements indicate that Cu$_2$O thin films exhibit p-type conductivity before and after annealing. Photoluminescence measurements indicated two peaks at around 523 and 355 nm, which confirmed the existence of Cu$_2$O and CuO thin films, respectively. Finally, the CuO nanostructures obtained at 500°C exhibited a high photocurrent enhancement and stability compared to as-deposited sample. As a consequence, the optical bandgap was reduced from 2.41 to 1.75 eV.

    • Author Affiliations



      1. Département de Génie des Procédés, Université Kasdi Merbah, 30000 Ouargla, Algeria
      2. Laboratoire de Chimie, Ingénierie Moléculaire et Nanostructures, Université Ferhat Abbas-Sétif 1, 19000 Sétif, Algeria
      3. Laboratoire de Dynamique, Interactions et Réactivite´ des Systèmes, Faculté des Sciences Appliquées, Université Kasdi Merbah Ouargla, BP 511, Ouargla, Algeria
      4. Département Sciences de la Matière, Faculté Sciences et de la Technologie, Université Mohamed El Bachir El Ibrahimi Bordj Bou Arreridj, 34000 Bordj Bou Arrerid, Algeria
    • Dates

  • Bulletin of Materials Science | News

    • Dr Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar for Science and Technology

      Posted on October 12, 2020

      Prof. Subi Jacob George — Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Jakkur, Bengaluru
      Chemical Sciences 2020

      Prof. Surajit Dhara — School of Physics, University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad
      Physical Sciences 2020

    • Editorial Note on Continuous Article Publication

      Posted on July 25, 2019

      Click here for Editorial Note on CAP Mode

© 2022-2023 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.