• Fulltext


        Click here to view fulltext PDF

      Permanent link:

    • Keywords


      CZTS; electrodeposition; sulphurization; secondary phase.

    • Abstract


      In this study, kesterite Cu$_2$ZnSnS$_4$ thin films were deposited on indium tin oxide substrates by co-electrodeposition method followed with sulphurization at different temperatures. The deposited films are characterized by X-ray diffraction (XRD), Raman spectroscopy, scanning electron microscopy (SEM), Fourier transform infrared and UV–visible spectroscopy. XRD analysis reveals that the films crystallinity is highly influenced by sulphurization temperature, and a temperature of 550°C was sufficient to remove the CuS secondary phase. Moreover, the film sulphurized at 550°C exhibits the lowest lattice strain, the minimal number of crystallites and the highest crystallite size (98.3 nm). However, the films sulphurized at temperature lower than 550°C is composed of kesterite CZTS with CuS as secondary phase. According to the Raman spectroscopy measurments, all films spectra exhibit the intense characteristic line of the CZTS (332 cm$^{–1}$) assigned to the A symmetry mode. The SEM images reveal that the surface morphology of the films became smooth and void-free as the sulphurization temperature increases. The film sulphurized at 550°C had a suitable bandgap of 1.47 eV, very close to the characteristic values for the pure kesterite CZTS.

    • Author Affiliations



      1. Materials Science and Informatics Laboratory, Djelfa University, 17000 Djelfa, Algeria
      2. Faculty of Sciences, M’Sila University, 28000 M’Sila, Algeria
      3. Laboratory Physico-Chemistry of Materials, Laghouat University, 03000 Laghouat, Algeria
      4. Center for Scientific and Technical Research in Physicochemical Analysis (PTAPC-Laghouat-CRAPC), 03000 Laghouat, Algeria
      5. Phase Transformation Laboratory, Mentouri University, 25000 Constantine, Algeria
    • Dates

  • Bulletin of Materials Science | News

    • Dr Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar for Science and Technology

      Posted on October 12, 2020

      Prof. Subi Jacob George — Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Jakkur, Bengaluru
      Chemical Sciences 2020

      Prof. Surajit Dhara — School of Physics, University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad
      Physical Sciences 2020

    • Editorial Note on Continuous Article Publication

      Posted on July 25, 2019

      Click here for Editorial Note on CAP Mode

© 2022-2023 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.