• Growth of monolayer and trilayer of gold nanoparticles attached octadecanethiol films on hydrophilic silicon surface using Langmuir–Blodgett method

    • Fulltext


        Click here to view fulltext PDF

      Permanent link:

    • Keywords


      Octadecanethiol monolayer; Au nanoparticles; out-of-plane structure; X-ray reflectivity; TEM; FTIR.

    • Abstract


      Gold nanoparticles (AuNPs) are formed below the octadecanethiol (ODT) Langmuir monolayer and the nanoparticles attached ODT monolayer is deposited on hydrophilic silicon substrate using the conventional Langmuir– Blodgett (LB) technique. X-ray reflectivity and atomic force microscopy analysis confirm that effectively monolayer- and trilayer-like structures are developed on the solid surface for single up stroke and multiple numbers of up-down-up cyclesof the substrate through the ODT layer. Transmission electron microscopy provides the size distribution of the deposited nanoparticles, while Fourier transform infrared study confirms the deposition of ODT layer and leaching of some thiol molecules due to multiple up/down strokes of the substrate. Effective growth of only single and double layers of AuNPs is possible on hydrophilic solid surface by the conventional LB method.

    • Author Affiliations



      1. Soft Nano Laboratory, Physical Sciences Division, Institute of Advanced Study in Science and Technology, Guwahati 781035, India
      2. Regional Science Centre (National Council of Science Museums), Guwahati 781022, India
    • Dates

  • Bulletin of Materials Science | News

    • Dr Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar for Science and Technology

      Posted on October 12, 2020

      Prof. Subi Jacob George — Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Jakkur, Bengaluru
      Chemical Sciences 2020

      Prof. Surajit Dhara — School of Physics, University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad
      Physical Sciences 2020

    • Editorial Note on Continuous Article Publication

      Posted on July 25, 2019

      Click here for Editorial Note on CAP Mode

© 2022-2023 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.