• Fulltext


        Click here to view fulltext PDF

      Permanent link:

    • Keywords


      Bi$_2$S$_3$/TiO$_2$ NTAs photoanode; titanium dioxide nanotubes; SILAR method; photoelectrochemical applications.

    • Abstract


      The synthesis of bismuth (III) sulphide (Bi$_2$S$_3$)-sensitized titanium dioxide nanotubes arrays (TiO$_2$ NTAs) was carried out using the SILAR (successive ionic layer adsorption and reaction) method. The effect of different cycles onthe performance of a photoanode made of Bi$_2$S$_3$/TiO$_2$ NTAs in photoelectrochemical cells was investigated. Fieldemission scanning electron microscopy, energy-dispersive X-ray spectroscopy, X-ray diffraction (XRD), Fourier transform infrared spectroscopy and UV–visible spectroscopy were used to investigate Bi$_2$S$_3$/TiO$_2$ NTs morphological, elemental composition, structural and optical absorption, respectively. TiO$_2$ nanotubes had a tetragonal crystal structure,whereas Bi$_2$S$_3$ had an orthorhombic crystal structure, according to XRD measurements. Absorbance spectra showed that the absorbance edges shifted towards longer wavelengths as the number of cycles increased, showing that the optical properties had significantly improved following deposition. Bi$_2$S$_3$/TiO$_2$ NTAs photoanode was proposed as a viable alternative photoanode in photoelectrochemical applications. The photocurrent density of the Bi$_2$S$_3$/TiO$_2$ NTAs composite film grew first, then declined as the number of Bi$_2$S$_3$ deposition cycles increased. After three cycles of deposition of Bi$_2$S$_3$, the Bi$_2$S$_3$/TiO$_2$ composite films displayed the highest photoelectrochemical characteristics. The photocurrent density of Bi$_2$S$_3$-3Cy/TiO$_2$ NTAs was 1.427 mA cm$^{–2}$, about four times that of plain TiO$_2$ NTAs. The Bi$_2$S$_3$/TiO$_2$ NTAs photoanode was offered as a feasible alternative photoanode in photoelectrochemical applications based on the findings of this study.

    • Author Affiliations



      1. Department of Physics, College of Education, University of Al-Qadisiyah, Al-Diwaniyah 58002, Iraq
      2. Imam Abdulrahman Bin Faisal University, Eastern Region, Dammam 34221, Saudi Arabia
      3. Department of Chemistry, College of Science for Women, University of Baghdad, Baghdad 10071, Iraq
      4. School of Physics, Universiti Sains Malaysia, 11800 Penang, Malaysia
      5. Nanotechnology Research Center, Sultan Qaboos University, Muscat 123, Oman
    • Dates

  • Bulletin of Materials Science | News

    • Dr Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar for Science and Technology

      Posted on October 12, 2020

      Prof. Subi Jacob George — Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Jakkur, Bengaluru
      Chemical Sciences 2020

      Prof. Surajit Dhara — School of Physics, University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad
      Physical Sciences 2020

    • Editorial Note on Continuous Article Publication

      Posted on July 25, 2019

      Click here for Editorial Note on CAP Mode

© 2022-2023 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.