• Fulltext


        Click here to view fulltext PDF

      Permanent link:

    • Keywords


      Graphene composites; mycotoxins; 3D-graphene biosensors; electrospun nanohybrids; aptasensor fabrication.

    • Abstract


      Ochratoxin A (OTA) is a public health concern because of its carcinogenic, teratogenic and immunotoxic nature, thus sensitive and selective monitoring of this molecule in food samples is of great importance. Herein, we reportthe development of a highly sensitive and selective electrochemical aptasensor using electrospun cellulose acetate (CA)-doped three-dimensional (3D)-graphene for OTA determination. The free standing electrospun CA/3D-graphenesurface was functionalized with silane and glutaraldehyde functional groups to tether terminal linkers for immobilizing OTA aptamer using the layer-by-layer deposition method. The current–voltage measurements of the proposed aptasensor revealed a low detection limit of 156 fg ml$^{-1}$ and sensitivity at 0.3 nA with a linear detection range of 1 fg ml$^{-1}$ to 1 ng ml$^{-1}$. This aptasensor did not show an interference effect during the selectivity test in the presence of other mycotoxins. The excellent applicability of the developed aptasensor has been verified in paddy rice-spiked samples, showing great potential in fields of food safety. The improved performance of this aptasensor is attributed to the large surface area, interconnected and porous structures of the electrospun fibrous membrane as well as the synergetic effect between graphene and the CA polymeric nanofibres, which creates a suitable matrix for aptamer immobilization and OTA interactions. The proposed aptasensor exhibits excellent sensitivity, selectivity, and thus could be a promising strategy for efficient on-site detection of OTA in food safety control and environmental monitoring.

    • Author Affiliations



      1. Department of Mechanical Engineering, Universiti Teknologi PETRONAS, 32610 Seri Iskandar, Malaysia
      2. Centre of Innovative Nanostructures and Nanodevices (COINN), Universiti Teknologi PETRONAS, 32610 Seri Iskandar, Malaysia
      3. Faculty of Chemical Engineering Technology, Universiti Malaysia Perlis, 02600 Arau, Malaysia
      4. Institute of Nano Electronic Engineering, Universiti Malaysia Perlis, 01000 Kangar, Malaysia
    • Dates

    • Supplementary Material

  • Bulletin of Materials Science | News

    • Dr Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar for Science and Technology

      Posted on October 12, 2020

      Prof. Subi Jacob George — Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Jakkur, Bengaluru
      Chemical Sciences 2020

      Prof. Surajit Dhara — School of Physics, University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad
      Physical Sciences 2020

    • Editorial Note on Continuous Article Publication

      Posted on July 25, 2019

      Click here for Editorial Note on CAP Mode

© 2022-2023 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.