• Novel synthesis of perovskite Gd$_x$Al$_{1–x}$O$_3$ semiconductor by combustion route for selective LPG sensing

    • Fulltext


        Click here to view fulltext PDF

      Permanent link:

    • Keywords


      Combustion method; perovskite GdAlO$_3$; orthorhombic; porous nanoflakes; LPG sensing.

    • Abstract


      Perovskite GdAlO$_3$ oxides were prepared by a simple and convenient solution combustion method. In synthesis, nitrates of gadolinium and aluminium were used as a precursor and that of urea and glycine was used as a specific fuel for the synthesis of GdAlO$_3$. Nitrates of Gd, Al and urea were taken in proper stoichiometric proportion to synthesize A1, A2 and A3. The obtained GdAlO$_3$ powder was sintered at 850°C temperature. The X-ray diffractometer patterns of samples confirm the formation of polycrystalline GdAlO$_3$ with an orthorhombic structure. The Williamson– Hall plot analysis confirms that the average particle size varies between 20 and 30 nm. The Fourier transform infrared spectral analysis confirms that the synthesized powder itself is phase pure. The field-emission scanning electron microscopy and transmission electron microscopy study reveals porous lump development over the substrate. The elemental composition of the samples was confirmed by energy-dispersive X-ray spectroscopy analysis. The bandgap energy of GdAlO$_3$ was varied between the ranges 3.80 to 3.90 eV. The gas sensing performance of GdAlO$_3$ was systematically examined for LPG, NO$_2$, NH$_3$ and H$_2$S for different operating temperatures and for various concentrations. The GdAlO$_3$ exhibits maximum sensitivity of 20.04% towards 100 ppm of LPG at temperature of 225°C.

    • Author Affiliations



      1. Department of Chemistry, Smt. Kasturbai Walchanch College of Arts and Sciences, Sangli 416416, India
      2. Department of Chemistry, Sushila Shankarrao Gadhave Mahavidyalaya, Satara 412802, India
      3. Department of Chemistry, Anandibai Raorane Arts, Commerce and Science College, Vaibhavwadi 416810, India
      4. Department of Physics, Sanjeevan Engineering and Technology Institute, Panhala, Kolhapur 416201, India
    • Dates

  • Bulletin of Materials Science | News

    • Dr Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar for Science and Technology

      Posted on October 12, 2020

      Prof. Subi Jacob George — Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Jakkur, Bengaluru
      Chemical Sciences 2020

      Prof. Surajit Dhara — School of Physics, University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad
      Physical Sciences 2020

    • Editorial Note on Continuous Article Publication

      Posted on July 25, 2019

      Click here for Editorial Note on CAP Mode

© 2022-2023 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.