• Use of 5,10,15,20-tetrakis(p-chlorophenyl)porphyrin as sensor material: potentiometric determination of aluminium(III) ions

    • Fulltext


        Click here to view fulltext PDF

      Permanent link:

    • Keywords


      Porphyrins; potentiometry; sensor; ionophore; PVC membrane.

    • Abstract


      In this study, 5,10,15,20-tetrakis(p-chlorophenyl)porphyrin has been synthesized and used as an ionophore for the preparation of a poly(vinyl chloride) (PVC) membrane sensor for aluminium(III) ions. The optimum composition of the best performing membrane contained ionophore, bis(2-ethylhexyl) adipate, PVC and potassium tetrakis(p-chlorophenyl) borate in the ratio of 4.0:63.0:32.0:1.0 (mg). The prepared PVC membrane morphology has been analysed by scanning electron microscopy. The developed aluminium(III)-selective sensor works in a wide linear concentration range of 1.0 ${\times}$ 10$^{–5}$ to 1.0 ${\times}$ 10$^{–1}$ mol l$^{–1}$ and, the detection limit of this sensor is 2.81 ${\times}$ 10$^{-6}$ mol l$^{–1}$. The sensor displays near-Nernstian slope of 25.0 ± 2.7 mV per decade for Al$^{3+}$ ions. The aluminium(III)-selective sensor has a wide working pH range of 5.0–10.0. The sensor shows good reusability, long-term stability and a fast response time of less than 5 s. Inaddition, the sensor shows good selectivity for Al$^{3+}$ ions over different cations. This aluminium(III)-selective sensor was successfully used as an indicator electrode in the potentiometric titration of Al$^{3+}$ ions with EDTA. The developed sensor was successfully applied to the direct determination of Al$^{3+}$ in different water samples.

    • Author Affiliations



      1. Science and Technology, Application and Research Center, Zonguldak Bu¨lent Ecevit University, 67600 Zonguldak, Turkey
      2. Department of Chemistry, Faculty of Science and Arts, Tokat Gaziosmanpas¸a University, 60250 Tokat, Turkey
    • Dates

  • Bulletin of Materials Science | News

    • Dr Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar for Science and Technology

      Posted on October 12, 2020

      Prof. Subi Jacob George — Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Jakkur, Bengaluru
      Chemical Sciences 2020

      Prof. Surajit Dhara — School of Physics, University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad
      Physical Sciences 2020

    • Editorial Note on Continuous Article Publication

      Posted on July 25, 2019

      Click here for Editorial Note on CAP Mode

© 2022-2023 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.