• Fulltext


        Click here to view fulltext PDF

      Permanent link:

    • Keywords


      Hydrothermal method; Ce-TiO$_2$@rGO; electrochemical detection; para-nitroaniline; CV.

    • Abstract


      Polycrystalline Ce-TiO$_2$@rGO compound has been successfully synthesized by hydrothermal method. The synthesized compound was characterized by powder X-ray diffraction (XRD), Fourier transform-infrared spectrophotometer,field-emission scanning electron microscopy, transmission electron microscopy and thermogravimetric analysis to confirm its crystallinity, morphology and thermal stability. From XRD results, crystallite size of the Ce-TiO$_2$@rGO compound was found between 9–15.2 nm, and SEM images confirm the needle-like structure of Ce-TiO$_2$ particles distributed over the reduced graphene oxide (rGO) layer. Further, the electrochemical behaviour of the Ce-TiO$_2$@rGO compound was examined by cyclic voltammetry and differential pulse voltammetry (DPV) techniques for the electrochemical detection of para-nitroaniline. The surface of the glassy carbon electrode was modified by the drop-castingtechnique. The scan rate effect showed that the electrode process is diffusion controlled. T he modified glassy carbon electrode (MGCE) exhibited the 0.347 ${\mu}$M limit of detection, satisfactory sensitivity of 49.12 ${\mu}$A ${\mu}$M$^{-1}$ m$^{-2}$ and linearrange between 0.1 and 1.5 ${\mu}$M. DPV interference studies results confirmed the selectivity of MGCE. The developed MGCE electrochemical sensor thus implemented is also advantageous for its good selectivity, stability, cost-effectiveness, portability and reproducibility.

    • Author Affiliations



      1. School of Studies in Chemistry, Jiwaji University, Gwalior 474011, India
      2. School of Studies in Physics, Jiwaji University, Gwalior 474011, India
    • Dates

  • Bulletin of Materials Science | News

    • Dr Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar for Science and Technology

      Posted on October 12, 2020

      Prof. Subi Jacob George — Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Jakkur, Bengaluru
      Chemical Sciences 2020

      Prof. Surajit Dhara — School of Physics, University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad
      Physical Sciences 2020

    • Editorial Note on Continuous Article Publication

      Posted on July 25, 2019

      Click here for Editorial Note on CAP Mode

© 2022-2023 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.