• Fulltext


        Click here to view fulltext PDF

      Permanent link:

    • Keywords


      Quantum dots; DSSC; QDSSC; photosensitizer; multiple exciton generation; metal chalcogenides.

    • Abstract


      Quantum dots (QDs), the zero-dimensional semiconductor nanocrystals, due to their distinctive optoelectronic properties like size-tunable bandgap, broad absorption spectrum, size-dependent narrow emission profile, and better transport properties with the possibility of multiple exciton generation, have attracted wide attention as photosensitizers for developing QDs-sensitized solar cells (QDSSCs). Among all types of QDs, metal chalcogenide (MCh) QDs especially lead (Pb) and cadmium (Cd)-based chalcogenide QDs have been proven to be most suitable for the application as sensitizers in QDSSCs. This review paper presents a general overview of the QDSSC technology followed by the role of MCh QDs as the sensitizers in DSSCs. Despite their better sensitizing properties, lead (Pb)-based QDs have some serious issues such as lower stability and high toxicity associated with them. Therefore, this review is focused on Cd-based QDs (CdSe and CdTe) and presents a detailed prospective of recent trends in CdSe- and CdTe-based QDSSCs research. It tries to suggest the prospects of improvement strategies like co-sensitization of photoanode; deposition mechanisms, post-synthesis chemical treatments and doping/co-doping of sensitizers; optimization of synthesis parameters and interface modifications, etc. adopted for tailoring the bandgap of CdSe and CdTe QDs.

    • Author Affiliations



      1. Department of Physics, Bareilly College, Bareilly 243005, India
      2. Department of Applied Sciences and Humanities, Jamia Millia Islamia, New Delhi 110025, India
      3. Department of Chemistry and Chemical Science, Central University of Himachal, Dharamsala 176215, India
      4. Department of Nanosciences and Materials, Central University of Jammu, Jammu 181143, India
    • Dates

  • Bulletin of Materials Science | News

    • Dr Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar for Science and Technology

      Posted on October 12, 2020

      Prof. Subi Jacob George — Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Jakkur, Bengaluru
      Chemical Sciences 2020

      Prof. Surajit Dhara — School of Physics, University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad
      Physical Sciences 2020

    • Editorial Note on Continuous Article Publication

      Posted on July 25, 2019

      Click here for Editorial Note on CAP Mode

© 2022-2023 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.