• Fulltext


        Click here to view fulltext PDF

      Permanent link:

    • Keywords


      Plasma polymerization; thin films; FTIR; UV–Vis spectroscopy.

    • Abstract


      Plasma polymerized 2-vinylpyridine (PP2VP) thin films have been synthesized under glow discharge using a capacitively coupled system. In the scanning electron microscope images, surface morphology of the PP2VP thin films isobserved to be very smooth and crack free. Fourier transform infrared spectra of the thin films clearly indicate that structural change occurs during the polymerization process. The information about the electronic structure and theexistence of both direct and indirect optical transitions in the PP2VP thin films have been ascertained by the ultraviolet– visible spectroscopic studies. The bandgaps for the allowed indirect and direct transitions of the as-deposited PP2VP thin films are obtained as 1.82 ± 0.10 and 3.30 ± 0.03 eV, respectively. To understand the optical response of the PP2VP thin films elaborately, different optical parameters, such as extinction coefficient, Urbach energy, refractive index, steepness parameter, optical conductivity, etc., are estimated.

    • Author Affiliations



      1. Department of Physics, University of Dhaka, Dhaka 1000, Bangladesh
      2. Department of Physics, Bangladesh University of Engineering and Technology (BUET), Dhaka 1000, Bangladesh
      3. University of Information Technology and Sciences (UITS), Dhaka 1212, Bangladesh
    • Dates

  • Bulletin of Materials Science | News

    • Dr Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar for Science and Technology

      Posted on October 12, 2020

      Prof. Subi Jacob George — Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Jakkur, Bengaluru
      Chemical Sciences 2020

      Prof. Surajit Dhara — School of Physics, University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad
      Physical Sciences 2020

    • Editorial Note on Continuous Article Publication

      Posted on July 25, 2019

      Click here for Editorial Note on CAP Mode

© 2022-2023 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.