• Surface electrocoating of single carbon fibre with electroactive 3,4-ethylenedioxythiophene/1-p(tolylsulphonyl) pyrrole copolymer: effect of dielectric constant of solvent

    • Fulltext


        Click here to view fulltext PDF

      Permanent link:

    • Keywords


      Electrodeposition; surface modification; thin film growth.

    • Abstract


      In this study, we demonstrate the effect of dielectric constant of solvents on the electrochemical coating of poly(3,4-ethylenedioxythiophene) (PEDOT) and copolymer of 1-(p-tolylsulphonyl) pyrrole (pTSP) with 3,4-ethylene dioxythiophene(EDOT) as electroactive thin film on single carbon fibre microelectrodes in different dielectric constant media. The highest specific and double layer capacitance value was obtained with homopolymer (C$_{sp}$ = 417 mF cm$^{-2}$, C$_{dl}$ = 140 mF cm$^{-2}$) and copolymer (C$_{sp}$ = 218 mF cm$^{-2}$, C$_{dl}$ = 67 mF cm$^{-2}$) synthesized in dielectric constant of 64.9. As the dielectric constant decreased, both polymer and copolymer capacitance values were decreased. PEDOT has preserved more capacitive behaviour especially at lower frequency than poly(EDOT-co-pTSP). The effect of dielectric constant of solvent on the polymerization was examined by cyclic voltammetry (CV), equivalent circuit modelling (ECM) technique and electrochemical impedance spectroscopy (EIS). The surface properties of homopolymer and copolymer were inspected by using scanning electron microscopy (SEM), energy dispersive X-ray (EDX) point analysis.

    • Author Affiliations



      1. Department of Chemistry, Istanbul Technical University, 34469 Maslak, Istanbul, Turkey
      2. Department of Chemistry, Yildiz Technical University, 34220 Esenler, Istanbul, Turkey
      3. Department of Polymer Science and Technology, Istanbul Technical University, 34469 Maslak, Istanbul, Turkey
    • Dates

  • Bulletin of Materials Science | News

    • Dr Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar for Science and Technology

      Posted on October 12, 2020

      Prof. Subi Jacob George — Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Jakkur, Bengaluru
      Chemical Sciences 2020

      Prof. Surajit Dhara — School of Physics, University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad
      Physical Sciences 2020

    • Editorial Note on Continuous Article Publication

      Posted on July 25, 2019

      Click here for Editorial Note on CAP Mode

© 2022-2023 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.