• Magnetic phase transitions leading to Griffith’s singularity with electrical and dielectric anomalies in transport properties of LaMnO$_{3+{\delta}}$

    • Fulltext


        Click here to view fulltext PDF

      Permanent link:

    • Keywords


      Inhomogeneous ferromagnetism; Griffith’s phase; inelastic tunneling; Shklovskii–Efros variable range hopping; Debye-Maxwell Wagner relaxor dynamics.

    • Abstract


      The polycrystalline LaMnO$_{3+{\delta}}$ has been investigated and studied in detail for its structural, magnetic,electrical transport and dielectric properties. Perovskite manganites like LaMnO$_{3+{\delta}}$ is intrinsically inhomogeneous and exhibit disorders, which lead to different types of critical phenomenon. The magnetization measurement suggests the occurrence of Griffith’s phase (means no clear phase separation in this region) like phenomenon arising above critical temperature $T$$_C$. This is also reflected as a small hump in electrical resistivity measurement about the same temperature as observed in magnetization measurements. The occurrence of Griffith’s phase-like phenomenon arising above the critical temperature $T$$_C$ in LaMnO$_{3+{\delta}}$ manganites is found due to the quenched disorder in the co-operative interactions of the frustrated magnetic spins. The analysis of electrical resistivity measurements further suggests that the transport properties in this region follows Shklovskii–Efros variable range hopping (SE-VRH) mechanism, as the sample encompass disorder and frustration. The Magneto-resistance (MR) at different temperatures measured with respect to the applied magnetic field further concludes the characteristic dependent on Brillouin function. The Dielectric measurements carried out on the sample exhibits multiple relaxation behavior, which is understood using combined Debye-Maxwell Wagner relaxor dynamics.

    • Author Affiliations



      1. Department of Physics, Acharya Institute of Graduate Studies, Bangalore 560107, India
    • Dates

  • Bulletin of Materials Science | News

    • Dr Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar for Science and Technology

      Posted on October 12, 2020

      Prof. Subi Jacob George — Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Jakkur, Bengaluru
      Chemical Sciences 2020

      Prof. Surajit Dhara — School of Physics, University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad
      Physical Sciences 2020

    • Editorial Note on Continuous Article Publication

      Posted on July 25, 2019

      Click here for Editorial Note on CAP Mode

© 2021-2022 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.