• Fulltext


        Click here to view fulltext PDF

      Permanent link:

    • Keywords


      Nanocomposite; nanoparticles; PVA; CFO; CBH.

    • Abstract


      Polyvinyl alcohol (PVA)–cobalt ferrite (CFO) nanocomposite films were synthesized by wet chemical method. The synthesized CFO nanomaterial was characterized by X-ray diffraction (XRD) and transmission electron microscopy(TEM), which confirm the formation of pure phase nanoparticles with cuboid shape. The variation in AC conductivity is measured as a function of frequency (within the range of 100 Hz$^{–1} MHz) and temperature (from 303 to 403 K). It was observed that the frequency exponent, $S$, decreases with increasing temperature, which is explained by correlated barrier hopping (CBH) conduction mechanism. Frequency dependence of real and imaginary parts of the dielectric permittivity of PVA–CFO nanocomposite films for different temperatures is studied on the basis of the modified Cole–Cole model. The dielectric permittivity of the samples reveals an increasing tendency with the concentration of CFO filler in PVA matrix. A high value of 89 emu g$^{−1}$ saturation magnetization and 652 Oe coercivity are observed in CFO nanoparticle.The coercivity increased in PVA–CFO nanocomposite when compared to CFO nanoparticle, which is expected due to inverse magnetostrictive effect. The increasing tendency of dielectric constant and magnetization of the nanocomposites with the increasing CFO concentration enhances the potential of applications in miniaturization of the antenna system and electromagnetic shielding materials.

    • Author Affiliations



      1. Department of Physics, National Institute Technology, Durgapur 713209, India
      2. Department of Atomic Energy Consortium for Scientific Research, University Grants Commission, Indore 452001, India
    • Dates

  • Bulletin of Materials Science | News

    • Dr Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar for Science and Technology

      Posted on October 12, 2020

      Prof. Subi Jacob George — Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Jakkur, Bengaluru
      Chemical Sciences 2020

      Prof. Surajit Dhara — School of Physics, University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad
      Physical Sciences 2020

    • Editorial Note on Continuous Article Publication

      Posted on July 25, 2019

      Click here for Editorial Note on CAP Mode

© 2021-2022 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.