• Fulltext


        Click here to view fulltext PDF

      Permanent link:

    • Keywords


      Nitrate–citrate gel combustion method; perovskite; monovalent ions doping; semiconductor; thermoelectric.

    • Abstract


      Monovalent ion doped lanthanum cobaltate La$_{1−x}$Na$_x$CoO$_3$ ($0 \leq x \leq 0.25$) compositions were synthesized by the nitrate–citrate gel combustion method. All the heat treatments were limited to below 1123 K, in order to retain the Na stoichiometry. Structural parameters for all the compounds were confirmed by the Rietveld refinement method usingpowder X-ray diffraction (XRD) data and exhibit the rhombhohedral crystal structure with space group R-3c (No. 167). Thescanning electron microscopy study reveals that the particles are spherical in shape and sizes, in the range of 0.2–0.5 $\mu$m.High temperature electrical resistivity, Seebeck coefficient and thermal conductivity measurements were performed on thehigh density hot pressed pellets in the temperature range of 300–800 K, which exhibit p-type conductivity of pristine anddoped compositions. The X-ray photoelectron spectroscopy (XPS) studies confirm the monotonous increase in Co$^{4+}$ withdoping concentration up to $x = 0.15$, which is correlated with the electrical resistivity and Seebeck coefficient values of thesamples. The highest power factor of 10 $\mu$WmK$^{−2}$ is achieved for 10 at% Na content at 600 K. Thermoelectric figure ofmerit is estimated to be $\sim$$1 \times 10^{−2}$ at 780 K for 15 at% Na-doped samples.

    • Author Affiliations



      1. Solid State and Structural Chemistry Unit, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru 560012, India
      2. Materials Research Centre, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru 560012, India
      3. School of Physics, Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Thiruvananthapuram 695016, India
      4. Department of Metallurgical Engineering and Materials Science, Indian Institute of Technology, Mumbai 400076, India
    • Dates

  • Bulletin of Materials Science | News

    • Dr Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar for Science and Technology

      Posted on October 12, 2020

      Prof. Subi Jacob George — Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Jakkur, Bengaluru
      Chemical Sciences 2020

      Prof. Surajit Dhara — School of Physics, University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad
      Physical Sciences 2020

    • Editorial Note on Continuous Article Publication

      Posted on July 25, 2019

      Click here for Editorial Note on CAP Mode

© 2023-2024 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.