• Linear and non-linear optical properties of amorphous Se and M5Se95 (M $=$ Ge, Ga and Zn) films

    • Fulltext


        Click here to view fulltext PDF

      Permanent link:

    • Keywords


      Thin films; vapour deposition; infrared spectroscopy; optical properties.

    • Abstract


      The variations in structure and optical properties of amorphous a-Se and a-M$_5$Se$_{95}$ (M = Ge, Ga and Zn) films have been studied based on FTIR and optical measurements. FTIR transmittance spectra for a-Se and a-M$_5$Se$_{95}$ (M $=$ Ge, Ga and Zn) glasses were measured as a function of wavenumber. The addition of Ge, Ga and Zn increases the vibrational frequency of the a-Se main band. The absorption edge of Ge$_5$Se$_{95}$ shifted towards long side of the wavelength in comparison with that of a-Se film. This shift increases gradually in the case of Ga$_5$Se$_{95}$ and Zn$_5$Se$_95$ films. So, the optical bandgap ofM5Se95 films was decreased, but the index of refraction was increased. The first and third order of electric susceptibility ($\chi_{(1)}$ and $\chi_{(3)}$) and non-linear index of refraction ($n_2$) were increased by adding Ge, Ga and Zn into a-Se.

    • Author Affiliations



      1. Department of Physics, Faculty of Science, Assuit University, Assuit 71516, Egypt
      2. Physics Department, Faculty of Science and Arts Khulais, University of Jeddah, Jeddah 21589, Saudi Arabia
      3. Physics Department, Faculty of Science, Al-Azhar University, Assiut Branch, Assiut 71524, Egypt
    • Dates

  • Bulletin of Materials Science | News

    • Dr Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar for Science and Technology

      Posted on October 12, 2020

      Prof. Subi Jacob George — Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Jakkur, Bengaluru
      Chemical Sciences 2020

      Prof. Surajit Dhara — School of Physics, University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad
      Physical Sciences 2020

    • Editorial Note on Continuous Article Publication

      Posted on July 25, 2019

      Click here for Editorial Note on CAP Mode

© 2021-2022 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.